My Happiest Place on Earth

Hello there! It’s been such a long time since I’ve updated you guys on my travels. I had no idea I would be as busy as I’ve been, but I’ve finally had a chance to sit down and write a few entries! Here are 3 things that I’ve had on my list for a while and finally got to check off!

img_9146
On the bus from the train station

We came into Paris on a windy day of October. Back in Montpellier, they were warning us that the weather might be cold, rainy, un-agreeable even, but we got lucky and the whole weekend was just gorgeous. As soon as we stepped out of the train and onto the platform, I just knew I was home. We walked to our hotel and dropped our bags off, freshened up, and set off to make some dreams come true.

 

 

 

 

Stop #1: Ladurée AKA the Heaven of Macaron. 

img_9401
First time Trying Macaron at Ladurée!

If no one knows what Ladurée is, you have to listen. There is literally no place like this on earth. Here’s some history:

Parisian tea rooms’ history is intimately tied to the
history of the Ladurée family. It all began in 1862, when
Louis Ernest Ladurée, a miller from the southwest of
France, founded a bakery in Paris at 16 rue Royale.
In 1871, while Baron Haussmann was giving
Paris a « new face », a fire in the bakery opened
the opportunity to transform it into a pastry shop… And the rest is history! This tea hose has the best macaron in the world, not to be confused with macaroons which are the coconut swirl of a desert widely found in America. Thy have flavors that range from coconut (niox de coco) to pistachio (pistache) and even rose petal (pétale de rose)! These pastries are super delicate, so don’t throw it in your bag or drop them , because they will crumble into a million delicious pieces! I waited to try macaron for the first time in France, and they were amazing. If anyone ever goes to Paris, don’t leave without trying them first!

Stop #2 Trying Escargot for the first time. 

img_9143
The parsley and butter sauce is marinating in the escargot just right!
img_9142
These Escargot were actually really good!

When you go to France, do as the French do, yes? It’s commonplace to have escargot, or snail, as an appetizer, or entrée when having a traditional 4 course dinner in France. So naturally, I wanted the whole experience! Only served as an entrée, escargot are not hard to cook. Chefs typically cook them in a simple reduction of butter, thyme, parsley, salt and pepper. The snails cook in this simple sauce for less than 25 minutes and then they’re ready to go! Escargot are served in a dish that has a concave hole for the shells to rest in –>

I thought that it would taste weird – or slimy even, but it was surprisingly pretty firm, like a properly cooked shrimp or conch, which is a sea-snail that shows up in Caribbean fare. It’s pretty safe to say that I’ve found a new favorite appetizer! Now if only I could find this on a menu in the States…

Stop #3 Dreams Really do Come True 

img_4161
Eiffel Tower at night

You know that feeling that you get when everything feels right in your world and all things suddenly click into place? That’s exactly how I felt when I saw the Eiffel Tower for the First time. Two of my friends had already been to Paris, so they were excited, that I was excited. They were telling me that as soon as I turned the corner from the metro stop I would be able to see it. I had been dreaming of this moment since I was 5 and I though about it as a real thought in the 8th grade and started learning French, but I never wrapped my head around the idea of actually seeing it.

We turned the corner and I laid eyes on the Eiffel Tower for the first time and like the Cancer that I am, I got emotional and couldn’t help but burst into tears. Suddenly all my hard work, all the sleepless nights studying and missing events to get ahead on assignments, were all worth it. And I couldn’t be happier. We went back to the Eiffel tower every day after that, and one night to see it light up on the hour. It took my breath away.

Guys, when you’ve found your happiest place on earth, write to me, comment and let me know, but I can tell you right now, I’ve found mine. I’ve never been so content then when I was in Paris for those 3 glorious days, and this was only day one! This city has stolen my heart and I can’t wait until I go back.

img_9195
My Happiest Place on Earth

Never stop chasing your dreams, don’t ever settle and keep pushing because the finish line is closer than you think. Don’t forget to comment, subscribe, and let me know what you think guys, I want to hear from you! Be blessed ☀️

Sincerely,

Subi

 

Leave a Reply

