Extraordinary Clay

Hello there!! I love trying new products and suggesting things for my friends to try to make them fall in love with products I like, so I became an Influenster. It’s an amazing site where you submit reviews of products and try to influence others to buy them. You receive the products free/complimentary to test and all you have to do is post about it! Click the link if you’d like to do the same and let me know what you think!

This time, Influenster gave me the opportunity to try a new product line from L’Oréal hair: Extraordinary Clay. Disclaimer: I got these products complimentary and all opinions are my own. 

As a natural haired girl, I was hesitant when Influenster sent me this product because it seemed pretty regular, just your average products. It says it’s for oily roots and dry ends to clarify and hydrate. Now, if anyone knows me, I loooove moisture, so for a product to say that targets oily anything, I’m on hyper-alert. As a natural haired girl, I know my hair carries oils that my hair needs to thrive, but if a product that isn’t designed to protect those oils is introduced to my hair, things will not go well! But these products were complimentary and I have tons of tricks up my sleeve to fix any hair problem, so I dove in!

img_9872

Step 1: This was the pre-poo (a familiar term for us naturals) of the new Extraordinary Clay line from L’oréal! I loved it because it cleansed the scalp and was super creamy. It says to keep it on for 5 minutes, and apply only to the roots, but I kept it on for about 15 minutes because I know my roots had product buildup this wash-day. It didn’t dry my roots at all! My hair felt really healthy, my curls were still poppin and all the dirt and grime from previously used products were washed away. This was my favorite step in the new product line for sure. If you’re looking for a product to clear your roots and have this in hand, go for it.
img_9873
Step 2: Shampoo. This is your average drugstore shampoo, there was nothing special about it at all. It reminded me why I stopped using any old product off of the shelf. I hated this shampoo for 3 reasons. 1. It stripped my hair of ALL oil and I could feel the difference immediately. Which is what the product is supposed to do, so technically I shouldn’t be mad. 2. The way my hair felt after I used this shampoo was just horrible. It felt like rubber, limp and lifeless. My hair had lost all of it’s elasticity and shine. 3. My curl pattern was lost completely. My hair at this point was in dire need of a deep conditioning treatment and I was so taken aback at the sudden change.

img_9875

Step 3: Conditioner. Well, at this point I was trying to save my hair so I packed that shampoo onto my hair like my life depended on it! It’s your regular conditioner, nothing special. It had tons of slip and got the job done, but I was waiting for that wow factor that conditioners get in order to make me love it.. That never happened, but my hair did feel a little better.

Side Note: I followed this routine with my Mielle Organics products to save the day!

Overall: After all of the steps were used, my hair felt clean, yes but at what cost? 3/10 do not recommend to any natural haired beauties out there. As a girl with 4b curls hydration is essential, and this product line, just wasn’t for me. The first step was the best step for all the reasons I stated but mostly because it was the most hydrating. If you plan on buying anything in this line, the first step, the clay hair mask is the one to go with! I apologize for the lack of a personal picture of my hair; next time I won’t forget! If you have any questions about the line, or have any questions for me, comment, send me an email or follow me on any of my social media platforms and contact me there. Thanks for reading guys! More product reviews to come for sure!

Sincerely,

Subi

Leave a Reply

