Taliah Waajid : Shea-Coco Review

Hey there!

Thanks to my subscription to Cocotique, in the April box I was able to try the amazing products from the Taliah Waajid Shea Coco line. These products have: Naturally Inspired Ingredients | Intense Moisture | Infused Natural Oils | Herbal Extracts. Ends dry dull lifeless hair. Revitalizes your hair to define your Natural Curl Pattern giving you soft luscious curls with no build up. Mends Breakage and Strengthens. (from the website). Most times when I use a new product I hardly ever follow the directions, but this time guys, I promise I did!

IMG_0177
6 Full Sized products for $20! A $55 Value.

Step 1 & 2: SHEA-COCO DETOX SHAMPOO & MOISTURE MADNESS MASQUE ($3.99)

shea-coco-detox-shampoo-moisture-madness-masque-51141-b11 When I first started out with the product line, my hair had a lot of product build up- I’m currently obsessed with braid-outs and leave in conditioner- so this was just what I needed. The detox shampoo is not what I expected at all. I didn’t fully read the label when I opened it, so when it came out black, I was a little taken aback. The shampoo has two really effective ingredients: tea tree and activated charcoal. Woo! Let me tell you I could feel it working! I pre-pooed my hair so it was in twists. I followed the instructions and concentrated on my scalp and man, did it work! Squeaky clean and feeling really healthy. I then followed with the Moisture Madness Masque; the directions specifically stated to go from the bottom of the hair shaft up to just before the root, which seemed odd at first but then I remembered that I just cleared all the product from my scalp and my pores were wide open- no need to clog them up with product again. I kept the mask on for an hour (suggested 15-25 minutes) yes I know I said I’d follow the directions but it was hair masque!! You know how us naturals get! So after an hour, I washed it out. My hair felt pretty amazing, I mean I don’t even know how to describe it; I’ve never had a product that made my hair feel this good. I feel like I say this a lot, but this is better than all the rest, I promise.

Step 3: Condition ($9.99)

TW condition

After the wash, I followed with the third step, the leave in conditioner. I always appreciate a good leave-in, especially when there is a good applicator in place: this spray bottle! I liked how the conditioner came out thick but not heavy. All of the products in this line have a subtle smell which makes good for mixing products and not becoming overwhelmed with the smell. The conditioner smoothed into my hair really well! I wish I could upload the video for you guys to see the whole process, but I couldn’t find a way to get it done 😦

Step 4: Monoi oil ($9.99)

TW monoi oil

As is known with the L.O.C method (Leave-in. Oil. Creme) I followed the leave-in with the oil provided in my cocotique box, the Monoi oil. This my first encounter with Monoi oil. It has the visual color of castor oil and consistency of olive oil. Benefits? From the website: “Taliah Waajid’s Monoi Oil is an all-natural serum that mends split ends and helps reverse damage to the hair. Monoi Oil also is great for adding shine and eliminating frizz.” It did help eliminate frizz for sure, and this product can be used for hot oil treatments as well along with as a skin moisturizer including feet and nails for a soft finish. Like castor oil! Again, the smell of this serum is very subtle and pleasing.

Step 5: Natural Hair Style Cream for 3C-4C Hair ($9.99)

TW style cream

Last step! My hair is 4B so I liked how it was tailored for those in my range, almost personalized. I went through with this product and used the praying hands method: putting a quarter sized amount in my palms, I rubbed them together and put my hair between my hands and smoothed the product down my hair shaft. After that I followed with a little more mononi oil for shine and extra coverage. I braided my hair (current braid-out obsession here) and let it dry over night! I took the braids down the next morning by putting some mononi oil in my hands and unbraiding, then fluffing with a pick.

Results: IMG_0333

Side note: I’m one who likes volume over definition; there was no grief lost here. Over the days my hair did get bigger, which is always my goal! 

Overall: I was surprised how well each product did its job, but also how well it worked with my hair. It’s rare to find a company that has great product AND a smell that doesn’t overpower the senses. Taliah Waajid, you are a genious woman!! Also the World Natural Hair Show this past weekend was amazing, I loved every second! (Stay tuned for a blog post on my experience!) The Shea Cocoa line was a good choice for the April Cocotique box, and the products were all full sized, they had to put it in a bigger box!! I didn’t get to try the cowash or the curl cream for 3B-4B hair, but I’m going to give it a try soon and write a blog post on that as well, soon hopefully! If you guys want to take advantage of this $20 deal and try these products out too, click Cocotique to purchase this box! I have half a mind to purchase another one myself, this offer is too good to pass up!!

Thank you guys for reading! Don’t forget to subscribe to the blog, let me know what you guys want to see, what you thought of the post, or if you just want to say hi! Follow me on social media, all of those links are on the Contact Page.  Wishing all of my college readers a happy end of the semester and sending all of you good vibes always. xoxo

Sincerely,

Subi

Leave a Reply

